An Open Letter to the Person Smoking Their E-Cigarette Indoors

TIME

xojane

This story originally appeared on xoJane.com.

Dear person smoking their e-cig next to me in this coffee shop,

I really hate your e-cigarette.

I’m proud of you for taking steps to quit smoking and, yes, I would much rather you vape than smoke. Smoking is terrible, and I’m not calling for a sweeping ban of e-cigs.

But please, I am imploring you, stop vaping indoors. I know it’s “just water vapor,” but it is water vapor that smells terrible. The vapor that is wafting over from your table to mine does not smell like pancakes; it smells like a synthetic blend of sugar-free butterscotch candies and diacetyl. Sure, this is “better” than cigarette smoke, but stepping in cat poop is better than stepping in dog poop, and both are still terrible options.

I realize that you are breaking no laws. You are technically allowed to “vape” indoors. In large…

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

